Please support our work with a fiscal year-end gift. Thank you!

Rabbinical Merit-Based Awards

Each year, Hebrew College offers a variety of merit-based awards to our rabbinic students in addition to need-based financial aid. Single-year scholarships and multi-year fellowships can significantly reduce the cost of tuition. We are dedicated to removing financial barriers so we can enable people to fulfill their dreams and serve the Jewish people as rabbis. Hebrew College is grateful to our generous supporters who have made these awards and all of our student financial support possible.

Awards are made based on academic achievement, leadership potential, and demonstrated commitment to the core values of Hebrew College and our rabbinical program.

Advancing the Leadership and Inclusion of Jews of Color:
This fellowship will be awarded to a student who identifies as a Jew of Color and/or a student who has demonstrated deep personal commitment to anti-racism and the work of strengthening and celebrating ethnic and racial diversity within the Jewish community.

The Galei Tzedek Fellowship:
This fellowship may be awarded to a student  committed to social justice and serving the LGBTQ community as part of their rabbinate.

Graduating Class Scholarship:
This scholarship may be awarded each year to an incoming student thanks to the contributions of previous graduating classes who want to pass on the gift of education. This fellowship will be awarded to a student who demonstrates a desire to contribute to our vibrant learning community.

Hebrew College Core Values Fellowships:
The Hebrew College Core Values Fellowships may be awarded to students who exemplify a commitment to the core values of our rabbinical program:

  • Ahavat Torah: A love of learning
  • Areivut: Embracing Communal Responsibility
  • Elu v’Elu: Engaging Diversity
  • Yetzira: Fostering Jewish Creativity

The Linda Friedman Memorial Award:
Each year our community has the honor of awarding a 3rd or 4th year rabbinical student with the Linda Friedman Memorial Award. Linda Friedman z”l is the late sister of Rabbi Lev Friedman (’18) and aunt of Rabbi Shoshana Friedman (’14 ). Their family generously started the Linda Friedman Memorial Fund to honor Linda’s memory by lifting up and supporting social justice work in the Jewish community.

The Myra Snyder Communal Leadership Scholarship:This award is named in honor of Hebrew College trustee Myra Snyder, who is a model of commitment and devotion to creating a strong Jewish community. The fellowship recognizes two students a year who share Myra’s passion for Jewish education and building strong Jewish communities.